Tags

, ,

and fall incredibly short, usually hitting your nose on something as you fall.

This sound familiar to anyone? As if you could make yourself a better person by having your surroundings appear perfect. The perfect tree, the perfect meal, the perfect decorations.

But you know what is my most treasured piece of artwork? My son’s chalk drawing of Percy and Thomas, two big, rectangular-ish shapes on a blue piece of paper. This was the first piece of artwork that Thor brought to me and told me what was in the picture. And he correctly identified Thomas as the blue rectangle and Percy as the green one.

This piece of paper is probably one of the least perfect things and it is my favorite.

My need for perfection comes from my need to please people; something in my brain thinks that if things look a certain way, then everyone will be happy and I won’t spend the aftermath of the holidays as a crying mess.

I usually end up a bigger crying mess when I strive for perfection.

I am beginning to let go of my need for this perfect image. I often say to Thor, “Even though the picture looks like this, doesn’t mean that you have to play that way.” I am reminded that I don’t have to strive to look like a picture on a box either.

And with a two-year-old around, not striving for perfection is a lot easier.

