Tags

, ,

Yeah, it’s been a hectic month. At the end of September, me, Captain America and Thor packed up our New Jersey apartment and moved up to the Massachusetts/New Hampshire border where we are currently living with Captain America’s parents. We were unpacking, settling in and starting a job hunt while sort of looking for a home, but I don’t think the house search is going to take off until after the holidays.

In the midst of this, I was doing the 21 Days of Praying for Boys. Side note: I’m discovering that being a mother is making me a more mature Christian, especially in the last year. Anyway, I bought the book and read it. I started out trying to pray every hour, but Thor and I are often out and about and while he would occasionally sit and pray with me, often he was running off to the next exciting thing and I was trailing after him.

So I added the prayers to the beginning of our day, when he would sit still with his morning glass of milk. I began reaching for my NOOK at random points of the day, flipping through for prayers as I needed them.

One in particular has touched me.

“And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.” Ezekiel 36:26

This verse, along with the lyrics “Break my heart for what break yours,” rang in my head for most of October. I think that they have been telling me that I need to remain pliable, to not build up walls and isolate myself, to let myself remain open to others.

This is a new phase of my life and I need to change with it, instead of relying on old habits. I’m not sure what is going to come of these changes, but I’m hoping that I take that heart of flesh and do what God wants me to do.

