Tags

, , , ,

Special post, mostly to make up for the fact that I didn’t post last Monday. Sorry about that, by the way. I was going to post late because last week was Vacation Bible School and I wanted to comment on the first day. But a storm the night before killed the power adapter to our modem and we had no Internet connection for two days while we sorted that out. I still had VBS every evening last week and I was feeling a bit under the weather. All in all, bad me, lots of excuses, didn’t post.

Greatest apologies.

Moving on.

I have found that society measures success in a variety of different ways and sometimes, we have to change our expectations of what success should be. My first example comes from our wonderful Vacation Bible School last week. We had fifteen children attend; we were hoping for more. But those fifteen children made the whole week and all the months of planning worth it. The joy of their faces and how enthusiastically they did all the songs and movements. And even more than that, one of the girls came to know Christ as her personal Savior. That was worth every hour in that hot sanctuary, putting up decorations.

I have found another measure of success. I had been working on potty training my son– his new code name is going to be Little Guy– and I was frustrated because he wouldn’t take his pants off to go potty. More accurately, I realized that he hadn’t mastered the skill of taking off his clothes yet. He wasn’t doing it to spite me; he simply wasn’t able to yet. But, he is using the potty. During the day, he has very few accidents. By my measure, he is potty-trained during the day. He still hasn’t gotten night training, but that’s fine. He wears a diaper at night and can’t wait to take it off when he wakes up.

That is a measure of success.

Maybe what happened isn’t what everyone would have defined as successful, but I think that we are doing very well.

What measure of success are you using?

