Tags

, , , , , ,

I had a moment a few weeks ago; I opened my closet and thought, “I have nothing to wear.”

Which isn’t entirely a true statement, but kind of is…

I have a confession: I don’t like clothes shopping. For myself, for other people, for anyone. I dislike having to look at clothes and try them on and the whole process. Because while it might look nice on the hanger or mannequin, it doesn’t ever look like that once I try it on.

Plus, I’m not into trends- seriously, crop tops? I like drape necks, and tunic-length shirts. I’m not into floral patterns or, shudder, pastels. And the in colors this season seem to be coral and mint.

I’d rather have to clean up potty training messes- #2- than go clothes shopping.

I’m of the mindset that I really shouldn’t be shopping in Juniors- I do anyway- and that there are certain styles that moms of small children just shouldn’t wear. Again, see crop tops.

Also, I’m not fond of spending a ton of money on my wardrobe.

Plus, I really hate trying things on because of the sizing issue.

Bottom line, clothing shopping is a pain but I do need some new clothes because most of my wardrobe is still maternity clothing- and my son is past his first birthday. It might be time to get rid of those since I’m not planning on baby #2 for at least another year.

So I caved and went clothes shopping. My first stop was Plato’s Closet, which is a thrift/consignment shop. I mentioned their counterpart, Once Upon a Child. And yes, I might enjoy clothes shopping for my son, for now.

I only found a few things at Plato’s Closet, but it got me started. I also ended up buying a few things at Deb, which is where a friend of mine shops. But another trend seems to be the very thin fabrics that you need to layer and people, it’s going to be summer. Who wants to layer in summer?

Tangent… In SUMMER!!!

Ok, I’m better.

In addition to where I went, my mother also found a few things at TJ Maxx and gave them to me. So I ended up with eight new shirts for my wardrobe, and that might be enough.

But it took a while for me to convince myself to go shopping and pick things out. I really dragged my feet about it.

There is one more thing that I might do. Stitch fix. My sister-in-law has a referral code and I might get just one really nice thing. Other people pick out clothes and send them to you. I like the other people doing the hard work of going through the racks for me. All I have to do is try them on, in the privacy of my own home, with no screaming baby in a small changing room.

I can handle that.

 

