Tags

, , , ,

When my son was born, I was part of a MOPS (Mothers of PreSchoolers) group; I had other moms to talk to, some had children older than mine, some had children the same age as mine. Either way, I had women that I could talk to about questions and concerns that I had. Women that I could share my baby triumphs with, like sleeping through the night or first steps and first foods.

More than that, I had other adults to talk with.

Understand, I am an introvert. I don’t have a large circle of friends and have actually isolated myself in the last five years or so. This was a choice, but still, I don’t have a large network of friends nearby.

Since my husband and I moved in September, I don’t have that same MOPS group anymore and the ones very here are very established and anyone trying to break into an established group understands how hard that can be. Not impossible, but when you’re sleep-deprived and living in a new area, it can seem daunting.

However, I now have a new mommy friend from the church that we attend. I think that she is just as excited to have me as I am to have her. We haven’t done much yet; dinner at her house with her two children, and discussions about going to a Renaissance Fair, but the seeds are there and I have to cultivate them.

The truth is, I’m a little starved for adult interaction. It’s mostly me and my son and my husband when he is home from work. Recently, I’ve been feeling the lack of females in my life. And I really need some women who aren’t related to me, either by blood or by marriage.

I have also found something called Fit4Mom/Stroller Strides in two towns near me. And I keep thinking of reasons not to go, such as I can run for free on my own. But, I think that if I have this group, even for just a few months, that I will run more, which is one of my goals for the new year and I won’t feel as isolated. I think that it will help to have some other moms around again and if I get to work out at the same time, well, that’s just another benefit.

