Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

But now, everyone knows that I have a young son. Guess what? Children grow. Not only do they grow, but they grow quickly. And they are messy and sticky, going through several outfits in one day.

That many clothes can be expensive.

So, my son recently grew again. His torso is longer than his legs, so his 12 month shirts and onesies no longer fit him. Here’s the real rub.

I ran out of clothing for him; all the clothes and gifts from my shower went up to 12 months; so I didn’t have a whole lot of 18 month clothing for him.

However, I know that in a few months, he is going to outgrow all the 18 month clothing that I am buying now. Knowing that, I didn’t want to spend a great deal of money on his new wardrobe.

My solution: thrift stores and consignment shops.

I was a consigner at a shop in Barneget, NJ, Spoiled Rotten Kids. I love this store. It is bright and clean and organized. Everything is neatly hung up and labeled. I can wander through the racks with my son and not worry too much about him pulling stuff down. So, I bought some of his clothes there with my consigner credit. I got 5 shirts, 2 pairs of pants and a pair of shoes for about $20.

And it only gets better.

There is a Once Upon a Child by my home. If anyone knows of Plato’s Closet, which is a thrift store for higher end, gently used tween and teen clothing, this is Plato’s Closet for the younger crowd. I walked out of this store with Gap, Ecko, Children’s Place- this was not the buy five Carter’s bodysuits or Gerber packaged in plastic. And I still didn’t spend over $20.

Plus, Once Upon a Child will take your clothing and offer you cash on the spot. However, what they take does depend on what they need and everything needs to be clean. They also take toys.

Anyway, for about $40, my son has enough 18 month clothing to get him through the season. I didn’t spend a lot of money on his wardrobe, and if he doesn’t destroy all of the outfits, I might be able to repeat the process when he grows into 24 month.

And when I get a free moment, I’m going to go to Plato’s Closet to see if there is anything that I want for myself.

