Tags

, , ,

So I was flipping through the channels the other day when a news reporter said something about Phantom of the Opera. I really like Phantom and was even rooting for the Phantom instead of Raoul. I think it’s right up there with my obsession with Severus Snape and several other just left of right characters (Lucius Malfoy, Jareth, and a few others spring to mind).

Turns out, Andrew Lloyd Webber wrote a sequel to Phantom called Love Never Dies. Being me, I went and looked it up. Now, I know the play doesn’t come to Broadway for like another year, but there’s something about it that makes me a little wary. I mean, it goes from the Paris Opera House to Cooney Island. We’ve gone from the lavish, beautiful stage to sideshow attractions at the Fair. Huh?

Plus, Christine is already married to Raoul and they have a son. I just don’t see her leaving him unless Raoul dies (which, with the Phantom could happen during the course of the play) or if Raoul was a wife-abuser. And the second one just doesn’t fit in the viscount’s character. Plus, there’s their son. What is going to happen with him when the Phantom sets his sights on his mother?

I mean, in the first one, there was a plausible way for Christine to end up with the Phantom and very few people had to be hurt. But it just doesn’t seem likely this time. I think that it’s going to be a disappointment for fans of Erik and Raoul might win again. Which would just make it a re-telling of the first musical.

On the other hand, the play isn’t on stage for another year. Maybe I’m wrong. I don’t know.

See Love Never Dies for more.

