Tags

Okay,  I have something to admit. Don’t yell at me but… I used to keep my comics in a pile on my dresser. I didn’t have a comic book store yet, so I had no one to ask and no one told me how to store them. So they sat in a pile for about a month. And then I started to worry about them.

So I searched the web, typing in “how to store comics” in the search engine. The first item that comes up is “How to Store Comic Books” a Wikihow. The whole page was very helpful, but a little confusing.

So, here’s my take on how to store comic books.

Things You’ll Need:

  • Mylar Sleeves
  • Acid-free backboards
  • Acid-free comic boxes

You’ll want to use supplies designed for archival use. The bags and backboards can usually be found at your local comic book store. I ended up buying a 100-pack at mine. If you don’t have a local store and buy your comics on-line, a good place to go is Cards Network.com. Cards Network is mainly for baseball card collectors, but they carry supplies for coin collectors, Magic card collectors, and comic book storage as well.

Another note: You’ll need to know what size your comics are. The Golden and Silver Age comics are larger than current comics and trying to fit them into a bag meant for a current comic will damage them. Also, graphic novels and trade paperbacks don’t fit into current size bags, so they’ll need to be stored in different sized bags as well.

And the most important step: Storing the comic books.

What I do is slide the backboard into the Mylar bag. I know that some white backboards have shiny side and a non-shiny side, but mine don’t. They are both non-shiny sides. So, the board goes into the bag, and then the comic goes in. The comic goes in with the cover against the side with the flap. The flap is folded over and taped down.

Then I have my storage box, where all the comics go (my collection is only big enough for one box at the moment). It has the various series set up with dividers between them so that I can easily find them. And it is stored in my closet, where they are dry and safe. It is advised that you check your comic regularly, but I read mine so often that I don’t really worry about it right now. Every time I pull them out, I check the spines for damage, make sure the colors are still nice and that they have mildew or anything.

Also, I’m careful when I read them. My mom makes fun of me because everyone in our family reads my comics and the only one I watch is my youngest brother. The joke is, he has to read at the newly cleaned table (flat surface) with a clean tablecloth on, with gloves on so that he doesn’t get any dirt on them and the only reason he should be touching them is to turn the page, otherwise his hands should be in his lap.

I’m a little protective of my comics.

Sources:

Golden Age Comic. (2009). How to Store Your Golden Age Comics. Retrieved from http://www.goldenagecomic.com.

Heritage Auction Galleries. (2009). Caring for Your Comics. Retrieved from http://comics.ha.com.

How to Store Comic Books. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.wikihow.com

