Tags

, , ,

Awake Skillet is a band that I love. They’re a Christian rock band that my sister got me into and Awake is the latest release. I only own Awake and the previous album, Comatose, so I’m not an expert. But anyone who likes rock, should check out Skillet.

Awake is harder than Comatose; off the top of my head, I can only think of two songs that are really slow. Most of them make my car shake when I’m driving and I can be heard from down the street when I’m listening to it.

My favorite songs from Awake include: “Awake and Alive,” “It’s Not Me It’s You,” and “Believe.” These songs are amazing. I can’t tell you about the guitar tabs, the vocals, the drums or anything. But I can tell you that the songs make me stop and listen to the lyrics. I stop flipping through songs and just listen, sometimes twice in a row. (Check out these songs and the others on the album at Skillet’s website)

I could go through each song and tell you what I think about them, but I’m going to focus on “It’s Not Be It’s You,” because I get really into this song. About a year ago, I had my heart broken and it destroyed my self-esteem. I felt that I was at fault, that I did something wrong, and I hated it. It made me sick. This song came out just as I was beginning to get over these feelings and I re-evaluated the situation. The whole thing was not my fault and I had no reason to feel destroyed. It wasn’t me, it was him. So I can be found rocking out to this song at home, singing at the top of my lungs and dancing around the kitchen.

“It’s Not Me It’s You”

So, go buy Awake, Comatose, Collide and Skillet’s other CD’s and find a song to rock out to.

