Tags

,

or National Novel Writing Month (November). 50,000 words in 30 days.

I first did this in 2006, but I haven’t done it since. Mostly because I’m usually involved in a writing project already, since I start a new story in September most of the time.

The year I did it, I started a pre-quel to my Draca Chronicles, about Chloe (the main character) and Christopher (the main antagonist), since their history before the first book is really interesting and somewhat complicated. I found that I got stuck about half-way through, around 26,000 words. On the other hand, I have a screenplay of it finished (I did that for class).

Anyway, I’m currently involved in the NaNoWriMo Fantasy community. I subscribe to the feed on my Netvibes ecosystem and answer questions that I feel I can help with, such as titles, character names and ways that I come up with plot and getting past writer’s block.

The biggest thing about NaNoWriMo is the community. It is a huge community of writers and it is really fun to be a part of. Even if I don’t end up writing this year (I’m working on my latest project, which involves vampires and gods), I love being a part of the community and helping other writers.

So, check it out, even if you don’t join.

