Tags

, ,

“You need to stop thinking like one of them and start thinking like a leader.”

Easier said than done.

This is what one of my co-leaders in Youth Group told me as we sat watching the youth do a reverse scavenger hunt (which was hysterical, by the way). It struck me that adjusting to being a leader would be similiar to adjusting to being a manager at Six Flags.

And it wasn’t easy there either.

It’s a mindset, not just acting the part. And I’m a little worried about it.

The thing is, I’m only three years older than some of these kids. I’ll be 21 in six weeks. The next youngest leader is married and I believe in her late 20’s. I just… I feel a little out of place.

And at the same time, I can relate to the kids better and I have so many activities that I want to do. Mostly, I want the support of a community again. I want to be a part of something.

I’m just not a part of it the way that I used to be.

