Tags

Initially, this post was going to be influences on my writing, but when I began thinking about my influences, I came up with two categories: the influences on my writing and the influences that prompted me to write. This post will deal with the latter.

What sparked me into writing is my younger sister. She was about 10 at the time and the only person that I would bother with my various story ideas. One day, she got tired of me bursting into her room with another anecdote that she looked at me and told me to go write it down, she would read it when I finished and not before.

She was the one who told me to get my butt in gear and write. In addition to that, my cousins, sister and I were big on make-believe and pretend. My first story was spawned from one of the role-plays that we used to do. And a lot of the role-plays are based off of dreams that I can remember.

So, what prompts me to sit and write are dreams, role-plays, and most importantly, my sister, who had the guts to tell me “Just write the stupid thing down already, I’ll read it when you’re done!”

